Pregnancy: Trials and Appreciation


2015/01/img_3507.jpg
Photos thanks to my good friend, Breanna at Bree LeMaire Photography!

This is a Public Service Announcement:

Yes, I feel blessed and amazing about being able to bring life into this world and no, I do NOT take that for granted.

I, personally, know people who don’t get this beautiful opportunity, and I truly do feel for them. As a matter of fact, it took us longer than expected; and it hurt every month that I didn’t succeed. I, AT NO POINT, not even for a second, regret or have changed my mind about being pregnant. I am well aware that every case of heartburn, every back ache, every hip pain and trip to the bathroom that prevents me from sleeping over an hour at a time each night…is SOOOO worth it. I love that. I’m grateful for that. But, let’s just get one thing straight, that does not, by any means, make me not allowed to not love every single moment.

Pregnancy is painful and tiring. It’s also beautiful and amazing! On top of all of this, the anticipation of finally meeting someone, that you love more than anyone you’ve ever meant in your entire life, after waiting almost a year, IS A LOT! I appreciate it and the end result is worth every last thing that I go through. But, that does NOT, by any means, take away the fact that it can be hard and I am only human. Yes, I signed up for this. I signed up for every achy, sleepless moment. And the outcome will be worth it ALL!

But, let me ask you this: If you want to be a doctor..you go to 8+ years of school and IT’S WORTH IT TO YOU, correct? That doesn’t mean you don’t complain and just not want to go sometimes.

If you work offshore or something like that; THE MONEY IS WORTH IT TO YOU, correct? That doesn’t, for a second, mean that you don’t just wish you were home more often, sometimes.

Pregnancy, unlike school and work, are not something that you can just change your mind about or slack on for a day. So, don’t come at me with that bull.

With that being said, I don’t expect pity. In the same breath, I won’t accept people’s backhanded comments. I do cherish every moment possible of this choice that I made. And it will ALL be worth it in the end, when I hold that sweet, beautiful little girl that I grew my very self, inside my body for 9-10 months. But, that does not mean that I did not go through the dedicated sweat, pain, discomfort, fatigue, HORMONES (which is a battle in itself), & etc. to get her here. So, if you know what’s best for you, be encouraging to a pregnant woman, or keep your damned mouth shut.

Pregnant women, please holler if you hear me.

Have a beautiful and great day!

2015/01/img_3448.jpg
8 months
2 thoughts on “Pregnancy: Trials and Appreciation”

Leave a Reply

